What is Gluten?

Honey Whole Wheat Bread
Honey Whole Wheat Bread (Contains Gluten)

Gluten is something that many people are trying to avoid these days….even if they don’t know what gluten is. I am avoiding wheat (a gluten containing grain) because when I challenged it, I had problems. I had a worse problem when I challenged rice (a gluten free grain) so I know that my food sensitivities go beyond gluten.

A friend shared this video on gluten by Jimmy Kimmel with me. I found it really funny.  I hope you enjoy it too!

Gluten (in case you are ever asked) is a composite of two proteins (glutenin and gliadin) found in certain grains, other foods, and even cosmetics. For a list of the sources of gluten, check out this post on the Celiac Disease Foundation’s webpage. You can also check out this post on hidden sources of gluten written by Hana Feeney MS RD.

Whether or not you need to avoid gluten, you now know what it is.  And I hope you had a good laugh too!

 

 

Leave a Reply